Return to Website

Memories of Bristol England Forum

If you have a question or know the answer to a question listed in this forum, please post it. Thank you! 

This is an easy to use messaging forum for everyone researching their family history or local history. The focus is on the Bristol area. Local Historians and Family Historians have a great deal of knowledge to share. This service is entirely free, with the hope that you and the historian and genealogy community as a whole will benefit from it.

Leave your messages here and come back later for the response.

Memories of Bristol England Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Old theatre, Colston street? PLEASE HELP

Hi, im a student at UWE in bristol, im staying in halls @ 33 colston street.
We know from speaking to contractors that there was once and still is (derelict) a theatre on site. It backs out on the the very end of trenchard street.
Does anyone know anything about this place?
I'd be so interested to know!
Richard

You can get me at: windsor_richard@hotmail.com

Thank you

Re: Old theatre, Colston street? PLEASE HELP

Small theatre built in Colston Hall. It opened with RC Carston's "Other People's Worries" on 12th December 1923. Home to the Little Theatre Company and the Rapier Players. Closed down late 1940s early 1950s

Bristol theatre couple Peggy Ann Wood and Ronald Russell ran the Rapier Players at the Little Theatre
for many years.